Report an accessibility problem

Sorry, there's a problem displaying your content right now.

We'll have your content up and running soon. For more details, visit ASU System Health.

In the meantime, please try any of the links below:

Bad gateway

The web server reported a bad gateway error.

  • Ray ID: 72537503197829dc
  • Your IP address:
  • Error reference number: 502
  • Cloudflare Location: Chicago
Report an accessibility problem

Engineering | ASU Active Perception Group (APG) / Yezhou Yang

ASU Active Perception Group

– A New American Computing Research Group

Faculty Member:

Yezhou Yang

Xin Ye (PostDoctoral Researcher)

Mohammad Farhadi (PostDoctoral Researcher)

Bharatesh Chakravarthi (Fulton Entrepreneurial PostDoctoral Fellow)

Doctoral Students:

Varun Chandra Jammula

Tejas Gokhale (co-advising with Dr. Chitta Baral)

Changhoon Kim

Joshua Feinglass

Sheng Cheng (co-advising with Dr. Max Yi Ren)

Blake Harrison

Ethan Wisdom (Fulton Schools Dean’s Fellow)

Master Students:

Huiliang Shao

Shibin Zheng

Aadhavan Sadasivam

Fengyu Yan

Shivakshit Patri

Undergraduate Students:

The group is open to undergraduate students who want to do projects with us.

Visiting Scholars:

Zhe Wang (visiting PhD student from Beijing University of Aeronautics & Astronautics(BUAA), 2018-now)

Jiaying Lu

Prof. Ming Wu, visiting from Beijing University of Posts and Communications (2017-2018)

The group is open to scholars who want to do a long-term (half year +) project with us.

Arizona High School Interns (STEM outreach):

Maverick Chung, from BASIS Peoria in Peoria, Arizona

Jerry Sun, from Hamilton High School, Arizona


Mohammad Farhadi (PhD 2022 in Computer Engineering. Current: PostDoctoral Researcher at SCAI ASU)

Zhiyuan (Jacob) Fang (PhD 2022 in Computer Science. Current: Research Scientist at Amazon)

Xin Ye (PhD 2021 in Computer Science. Current: PostDoctoral Researcher at SCAI ASU)

Mo Izady (PhD 2019 in Neuroscience, co-advising with Dr. Mark Preul, MD from the Barrow Neurological Institute, Current: Data Systems Program Manager, Stanford Children’s Health)

Somak Aditya (PhD 2018, co-advising with Dr. Chitta Baral; Current: Tenure Track faculty, IIT Kharagpur)

Anshul Rai (Master with Thesis 2019; Current; Enthought)

Kausic Gunasekar (Master with Thesis 2019; Current; Bright Machines)

Rudra Saha (Master with Thesis 2018; Current: Verisk AI lab)

Shashank Tadepalli Ravishankar (Master 2018; Current: Mathworks)

Srikrishna Yasaswi Tallavajhala (Master 2018; Current: Datalogic)

Divyanshu Bandil (Master 2018; Current: Logitech)

Aman Verma (Master 2018; Current: Nvidia)

Bachelor: Brandon Dubbs, Destiny Vidaure (Berret Honor Thesis), Roman Paolo Pascua (Berret Honor Thesis)

Stephen McAleer (Bidstrup Undergraduate Fellow for Spring 2017) (Graduation Year: 2017; Current: PhD student at UC Irvine)


Close Collaborators:

Somak Aditya (PhD student in CS, co-advising with Dr. Chitta Baral)

Mo Izady (PhD student in Neuroscience, co-advising with Dr. Mark Preul, MD from the Barrow Neurological Institute)
Chengxi Ye
Yi Li

Long-term Collaborators:

Mingli Song
Cornelia Fermuller
Yiannis Aloimonos
Chitta Baral